Publisher Says ‘No More’

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt recently announced plans to ‘temporarily [stop] acquiring manuscripts’. Apparently they want to do things ‘smarter’ and that it is not ‘an indicator of the end of literature’. The Vice President of Communications, Josef Blumenfeld, has said it is ‘not a permanent change’. This might scare a few people, but I think it’s … Continue reading »

Literature without the naughty bits

I don’t mind a bit of erotic writing when it’s done well. But bad writing sticks out like a, well, you know. The shortlist for the Bad Sex in Literature contest has been announced, celebrating the worst erotic writing of the year. The contest was originally started as a way of "gently dissuading authors and … Continue reading »

News and Views

Starbucks has entered the publishing arena through its Starbucks Entertainment division. They have a co-publishing arrangement with Farrar Straus Giroux and will publish The Traveler [sic] by Daren and Daniel Simkin. Over at SFScope, Robert J Sawyer has listed his four ‘must-read’ books for fiction writers. They are (in no particular order): Characters and Viewpoint by … Continue reading »

‘Indie’ Awards

The winner of the very first ‘Indie’ Award for ‘Best Australian Book’ is Breath by Tim Winton. He receives $19,000, donated by over 120 independent booksellers. The Australian Independent Booksellers awards are also given out to Debut Fiction – this year won by Toni Jordan with her book Addition, non-fiction to Don Watson’s American Journeys and … Continue reading »

Booker Books in Audio

The Man Booker Prize 2008 shorlist was announced recently and if you are a huge fan of the prize you may be interested to know that they have free extracts available as a podcast of the shortlisted titles. A good way of trying before buying. The Gathering by Anne Enright, which won the Man Booker last year, is … Continue reading »

More Awards…

The Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards were announced last night. The Fiction Book Award of $25,000 was given to Helen Garner for her book, The Spare Room. The Emerging Queensland Writer – Manuscript Award of $20,000 was given to Amy Vought Barker for her manuscript, Omega Park. The full list of winners is listed here.   

PM Literary Awards 2008

Last Friday, the first winners of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced. The non-fiction prize winner is Philip Jones for his book Ochre and Rust: Artefacts and Encounters on Australian Frontiers. Steven Conte won the fiction category for The Zookeeper’s War. Both winners receive $100,000 tax-free dollars.

More on Jones’ Jewel

A US literary prize, the Langham Charitable Trust, has said it will not consider any submissions for prizes from Random House because of its "cowardly self-censorship" in pulling production on The Jewel of Medina. The Trust awards two prizes each year of US$1,000 and last year one of the awards was won by a Random title. … Continue reading »

CBCA Winners Announced

Sonya Hartnett and Carole Wilkinson have taken out the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year prizes for older and younger readers, with the early childhood prize going to Aaron Blabey. The picture book prize has been awarded to Matt Ottley. The Australian has more details, and check out the CBCA website for the … Continue reading »