Disclaimer: This page is manually curated by AWM staff as an aid to writers. While every effort is made to keep the details up to date, mistakes may occur when changes happen between our periodic reviews. If you notice any out-of-date or incorrect information on this page, let us know and we’ll update it as quickly as possible.

January 2018

12 January  King’s Shorts Festival of Ten Minute Plays
14 January  Kat Muscat Fellowship
15 January Masters Review Short Story Award for New Writers
17 January Folio Society Book Illustration Competition
28 January Grindstone Literary Services Open Prose Competition

John O’Brien Open Writing Competition

30 January Hillman Prize
31 January 2018 black&write! Fellowships

Crazyhorse Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction and Poetry

Desperate Literature Short Fiction Prize

Disquiet Prize

The Fiction Desk Ghost Story Competition

Fish Short Memoir Contest

Genjuan International Haibun Contest

Hope Prize for Short Story

International Radio Playwriting Competition

Iowa Review Awards

Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest

Magarey Medal for Biography

O Bheal International Five Words Competition

Plough Prize

Psychopomp Magazine Short Fiction Award

WK Hancock Prize


February 2018

1 February Golfwell’s Second Annual Gold Writing Competition

Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award

2 February Text Prize for YA & Children’s Writing
5 February Newcastle Short Story Award
7 February Banjo Paterson Australian Poetry Competition

ChipLitFest Short Story Competition

10 February Charles Perkins Centre Fellowship
13 February Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook Short Story Competition
14 February Black Cockatoo Art and Story Competition
15 February Words & Brushes Short Story Competition
18 February Regional Storyteller Scholarship

Tasmanian Writers’ Prize

25 February Atlantis Short Story Contest
28 February Australian Inaugural So Bad It’s Good Writing Competition

Booksie Young Writer Short Story Contest

Booksie Short Story Contest

Colin Roderick Award

CWA Debut Dagger Award

Everything Change Climate Fiction Contest

Flash 500 Short Story Competition

Sentinel Literary Quarterly Poetry Competition


March 2018


1 March Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize

Nature and Place Poetry Competition

Stella Kupferberg Memorial Short Story Prize

University of Sunderland Short Story Award

Women’s National Book Association Writing Contest

2 March Mulga Bill Writing Award
9 March Carol Lloyd Award
14 March Nelligan Prize
28 March Grindstone Literary Services Flash Fiction 500
31 March Australian Christian Book of the Year Awards

Brian Dempsey Memorial Prize

The Caterpillar Poetry Prize

Cinnamon Press Poetry Pamphlet

International Rubery Book Award

L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest

Nairda Lyne Award

Ned Kelly Awards

Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition

April 2018

10 April ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize
15 April Ploughshares Emerging Writer’s Contest
30 April Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award

Edinburgh International Flash Fiction Award

Tom Howard/John H Reid Fiction and Essay Contest


May 2018

1 May Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition

David Nathan Meyerson Prize for Fiction

15 May Raymond Carver Short Story Contest
31 May Cinnamon Press Short Story Prize


June 2018

30 June L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest


July 2018

9th July Melbourne Prize for Literature 2018 & Awards
31 July Cinnamon  Press Debut Novel/Novella Prize


August 2018

31 August FAW Tasmania Poetry Prize


September 2018

30 September L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest

October 2018

15 October FAW Tasmania Christmas Competitions


November 2018

None at this time


December 2018

31 December L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest